Dropbox Pro Now Offers 1TB of Cloud Storage For The Price of 100GB

The Dropbox Pro users now have 10 x times more cloud storage space at their disposal. This is a great news for all filmmakers who use the platform on a daily basis, myself included.

I’ve been using Dropbox since 2009, and I definitely could say that I’m a big fan, I really like it, and more importantly, I totally trust the service. For more than 4 years I’ve not experienced a single problem with the platform. No missing or corrupted files, no upload or download issues, all files through my devices were perfectly synced and ready to be used whenever I need them.

It has never been easier to share my work and those big ProRes files with collaborators and clients. I simply drop the file to my Dropbox folder, wait for it to be synced and then share the link. It is as easy as that. At the time when I was searching for a solution, Dropbox was the only platform that didn’t have any file size limitations which was one of the main reason why I decided to give it a try. Presently, the desktop client still has no restrictions on individual file sizes which is a huge plus.

A couple of days ago I received an email in my inbox that notified me that as a Dropbox Pro user now I have 10 times more cloud storage space going from 100 GB  up to 1 TB for the same price of $9.99 per month.

They also have added some new features that are a must to have as well. Especially the one that let you delete your Dropbox folder in case you lose accidentally any of your devices or even worse in case of loss or device theft. This is essential feature that protects your files and information. It looks like stiff competition in the cloud storage space is really paying off for users.

These are all the new features of Dropbox Pro upgrade:

  • Passwords for shared links create an additional layer of security so only people with the password can access your link.
  • Expirations for shared links safeguard your sensitive files by letting you set how long your links stay up.
  • View-only permissions for shared folders let you pick whether recipients can edit or just view files within your shared folder.
  • Remote wipe lets you delete your Dropbox files from a lost or stolen device while keeping them safely backed up in Dropbox. For example, if you’ve ever left your laptop on a plane, you’re not just worried about the laptop — you’re worried about the stuff that’s on it.


Three months ago I had a situation when Dropbox was the only option for me and the tool became really helpful when I needed to send urgently a feature film DCP to a local distributor. The video mxf. file (which is the biggest one of the six files) in the DCP folder was as massive 65 GB. I had the DCP uploaded to my Dropbox account and the only thing I did was to send the folder link to the client.

Now, with the Dropbox Pro it will be easier to store and share my 4K ProRes files as well.

Guys, what do you think about the new Dropbox Pro upgrade? We’ll be glad to read your thoughts on the topic in the comments below.

Claim your copy of DAVINCI RESOLVE 12.5 - SIMPLIFIED COURSE with 50% off! Limited Time Offer!

600x311 4KShooters banner